2018 Faculty

Christopher Barzak

Christopher Barzak is the author of the Crawford Fantasy Award winning novel, One for Sorrow, which has been made into the Sundance feature film Jamie Marks is Dead.His second novel, The Love We Share Without Knowing, was a finalist for the Nebula Award and the James Tiptree Jr. Award. His most recent novel, Wonders of the Invisible World, was published by Knopf in 2015, and received the Stonewall Honor Award from the American Library Association. He is also the author of two collections: Birds and Birthdays, a collection of surrealist fantasy stories, and Before and Afterlives, a collection of supernatural fantasies, which won Best Collection in the 2013 Shirley Jackson Awards. Christopher grew up in rural Ohio. Currently he teaches fiction writing in the Northeast Ohio MFA program at Youngstown State University.

Holly Black

Holly Black is the author of bestselling contemporary fantasy books for kids and teens. Some of her titles include The Spiderwick Chronicles (with Tony DiTerlizzi), The Modern Faerie Tale series, the Curse Workers series, Doll Bones, The Coldest Girl in Coldtown, the Magisterium series (with Cassandra Clare) and The Darkest Part of the Forest. She has been a finalist for an Eisner Award, and the recipient of the Andre Norton Award, the Mythopoeic Award and a Newbery Honor. She currently lives in New England with her husband and son in a house with a secret door.

Mat Johnson

Mat Johnson is the author of the novels Loving Day, Pym, Drop, and Hunting in Harlem, the nonfiction novella The Great Negro Plot, and the comic books Incognegro and Dark Rain. He is a recipient of the United States Artist James Baldwin Fellowship, The Hurston/Wright Legacy Award, a Barnes & Noble Discover Great New Writers selection, and the John Dos Passos Prize for Literature. Mat Johnson is a Professor at the University of Houston Creative Writing Program.

Kij Johnson

Kij Johnson is an American fantasy writer noted for her adaptations of Japanese myths and folklore. Her Tor.com story “Ponies” won the 2011 Nebula Award for Best Short Story. Her story “Fox Magic” won the 1994 Theodore Sturgeon Award, her novel The Fox Woman won the Crawford Award for best debut fantasy novel, and her subsequent novel Fudoki was a finalist for the World Fantasy Award and was cited by Publishers Weekly as one of the best fantasy novels of its year. She is also an associate director of the Center for the Study of Science Fiction at the University of Kansas.

Kelly Link

Kelly Link is the author of the collections Stranger Things Happen, Magic for Beginners, Pretty Monsters, and Get in Trouble. Her short stories have been published in The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction, The Best American Short Stories, and Prize Stories: The O. Henry Awards. She has received a grant from the National Endowment for the Arts. She and Gavin J. Grant have co-edited a number of anthologies, including multiple volumes of The Year’s Best Fantasy and Horror and, for young adults: Steampunk! and Monstrous Affections. She is the co-founder of Small Beer Press and co-edits the occasional zine Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet. Link was born in Miami, Florida. She currently lives with her husband and daughter in Northampton, Massachusetts.

Gavin J. Grant

Gavin J. Grant is the publisher of Small Beer Press, an independent press based in Massachusetts, whose books have been awarded the Philip K. Dick, Shirley Jackson, Hugo, and Locus Awards, as well as selected as the best of the year by Time Magazine, Salon, Booklist, Village Voice, and the San Francisco Chronicle, among others. Since 1996 he has (with Kelly Link) edited and published Lady Churchill’s Rosebud Wristlet, a twice-yearly small press zine. Del Rey published The Best of LCRW. From 2003-8 Grant and Link edited the fantasy half of The Year’s Best Fantasy & Horror. Originally from Scotland, Grant moved to the USA in 1991 and has worked in bookshops in Los Angeles and Boston and for BookSense.com. He has written for the Los Angeles Times, Christian Science Monitor, Hartford Courant, Strange Horizons, and Time Out New York, among others. He lives with his family in an old farmhouse in Northampton, MA.

Shelley Streeby (Faculty Director)

Shelley Streeby, Professor of Literature and Ethnic Studies at UC San Diego, has been the Faculty Director of the Clarion Workshop since 2010. Professor Streeby received her Ph.D. in English from the University of California, Berkeley and her B.A. in English from Harvard University. Her books include Imagining the Future of Climate Change: World-Making through Science Fiction and Activism (UC Press), Radical Sensations: World Movements, Violence, and Visual Culture (Duke University Press), and American Sensations: Class, Empire, and the Production of Popular Culture (University of California Press, American Crossroads Series, 2002), which received the American Studies Association’s 2003 Lora Romero First Book Publication Prize. She is also co-editor (with Jesse Alemán) of Empire and the Literature of Sensation: An Anthology of Nineteenth-Century Popular Fiction (Rutgers University Press, Multi-Ethnic Literatures of the Americas Series, 2007).