About Clarion

2014 Workshop

2014 Faculty

How to Apply

Application FAQ


Alumni & Faculty

San Diego Alumni

Clarion Blog


Related Links

the Workshop

2014 Clarion Instructors

Gregory Frost

Gregory Frost is the author of eight novels and well over fifty short stories of the fantastic: dark thrillers, historical fantasy and science fiction. His latest published novel is the YA-crossover Shadowbridge duology (Del Rey/Random House), voted one of the best fantasy novels of the 2009 by the ALA. In the short fiction category, his novella, "Vulpes," rounds out the braided sf-horror anthology V-Wars, edited by Jonathan Maberry (IDW); his short story "The Dingus" opens Supernatural Noir, edited by Ellen Datlow (Dark Horse Books); his short story "No Others are Genuine" graces the Oct/Nov 2013 issue of Asimov's Science Fiction Magazine; his collaborative novella with Jonathan Maberry, "T.Rhymer," can be found in Dark Duets (HarperCollins, January 2014), and his novelette "Farewell, My Rocketeer" is featured in a forthcoming "Rocketeer" anthology from IDW in tribute to graphic artist Dave Stevens. He is also a contributor to The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature, edited by Edward James & Farah Mendlesohn (Cambridge University Press), and serves as the Fiction Workshop Director at Swarthmore College.


Geoff Ryman

Geoffrey Charles Ryman is well known in the fields of science fiction, fantasy and slipstream fiction. He was born in Canada, and has lived most of his life in England. His work includes The Warrior Who Carried Life, the novella "The Unconquered Country" (winner of the British Science Fiction Award and the World Fantasy Award), and The Child Garden (winner of the Arthur C. Clarke Award and the Campbell Award). More recent works of fiction include Was, Lust, and Air, which won the James Tiptree, Jr. Award, the British Science Fiction Award and the Arthur C. Clarke Award, and was a finalist for the Nebula Award, the Philip K. Dick Award, and the John W. Campbell Memorial Award.


Catherynne Valente

Catherynne M. Valente is the New York Times bestselling author of many works of fiction and poetry, including Palimpsest, the Orphan's Tales series, Deathless, and The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Own Making. She is the winner of the Andre Norton, Tiptree, Mythopoeic, Rhysling, Lambda, Locus and Hugo awards. She has been a finalist for the Nebula and World Fantasy Awards. She lives on an island off the coast of Maine with a small but growing menagerie of beasts, some of whom are human.


N.K. Jemisin

N. K. Jemisin is a Brooklyn author whose short fiction and novels have been multiply nominated for the Hugo and the Nebula, shortlisted for the Crawford and the Tiptree, and have won the Locus Award for Best First Novel. Her speculative works range from fantasy to science fiction to the undefinable; her themes include the intersections of race and gender, resistance to oppression, and the coolness of Stuff Blowing Up. She is a member of the Altered Fluid writing group, and a graduate of the Viable Paradise writing workshop. Her latest novel, The Shadowed Sun, was published in June 2012 from Orbit Books. Her website is nkjemisin.com.


Ann VanderMeer

The founder of the award-winning Buzzcity Press, Ann VanderMeer currently serves as an acquiring fiction editor for Tor.com, Cheeky Frawg Books, and weirdfictionreview.com. She was the editor-in-chief for Weird Tales for five years, during which time she was nominated three times for the Hugo Award, winning one. Along with nominations for the Shirley Jackson Award, she also has won a World Fantasy Award and a British Fantasy Award for co-editing The Weird: A Compendium of Strange and Dark Stories. Other projects have included Best American Fantasy, three Steampunk anthologies, and a humor book, The Kosher Guide to Imaginary Animals. Her latest anthologies include Steampunk III: Steampunk Revolution, The Time Traveler's Almanac, and an as-yet unnamed anthology of feminist speculative fiction. Photo by Francesca Myman, Locus Magazine.


Jeff VanderMeer

Jeff VanderMeer's most recent release is Wonderbook (Abrams Image), the world's first fully illustrated, full-color creative writing guide. In 2014, Farrar, Straus and Giroux will release his Southern Reach trilogy (Annihilation, Authority, and Acceptance) as will HarperCollins Canada, The Fourth Estate (U.K.), and publishers in 15 other countries. Paramount Pictures and Scott Rudin Productions have acquired the movie rights. A three-time World Fantasy Award winner and 13-time nominee, VanderMeer has been a finalist for the Nebula, Hugo, Philip K. Dick, and Shirley Jackson Awards. His nonfiction appears in the New York Times Book Review, the Guardian, and the Los Angeles Times, among others. The co-founder of Weirdfictionreview.com and Cheeky Frawg Books, VanderMeer has edited or coedited twelve fiction anthologies and serves as the co-director of Shared Worlds, a unique teen SF/fantasy writing camp located at Wofford College. Previous novels include the Ambergris Cycle, with nonfiction titles including Booklife and The Steampunk Bible. He lives in Tallahassee, Florida, with his wife, the noted editor Ann VanderMeer. Photo by Francesca Myman, Locus Magazine.